Skip to main content

School Board

The Avinger Independent School District's School Board is committed to making our district second to none.  Enhancing opportunities for the school and classrooms is always at the top of priority list.  As policy makers, we shall be responsible for providing a sound, basic, quality education for all students by promoting a creative academic performance for the imporvement of student learning in a safe and orderly enviornment. 

The Board, as community leaders, shall provide open dialogue with mutual respect, working with the Superintendent and local government, securing sufficient resources and serving as advocates for the district.  We invite you to attend our meetings and we welcome your support and input. 

Avinger ISD Board of Trustees

Texas law grants the board of trustees the power to govern and oversee the management of the district's schools.  The board is the policy-making body withing the district and has overall responsibility for the curriculum, school taxes, annual budget employment of the superintendent and other professional staff and facilities.  The board has complete and final control over school matters within limits established by state and federal law and regulations. 

2019 - 2020 Officers and Board Members

President –  Ann Linwood

Vice-President – Doug Jacobs

Secretary – Pam Downs

Tami Jacobs

Colleen Nix

Tommy Walker

Lane Young


To view the Avinger ISD online Board Policy Manual click here. 


Meeting Schedule




District Calendar

Upcoming Events

Current Weather

Current Condition: light rain

Temperature: 63.5˚F

Feels Like: 60.58˚F

Wind Speeds: 10.27mph

Weather humidity: 85%

Chance of Precipitation: 0.71%

Contact Information

Avinger ISD
245 Connor St
Avinger, Texas 75630
Phone: 903.562.1355
Fax: 903.562.1271

Popular Links

Notification Center

E-Note Notification Center